Memories for a Lifetime 

Wow what a wild ride it’s been! I can’t begin to describe how much this experience has meant to me, but i’ll try my best. As this week comes to a close, so does my Vindolanda experience… for now at least, and I can confidently say that this has been one of the most amazing experiences I was so lucky to be a part of! Not only was this a great learning opportunity and an exciting and educational 5 weeks, but also an amazing chance to meet new people and get to know my fellow field schoolers. The memories we made here will forever be some of my fondest, including our hard work in the trenches, and our delicious group dinners. This adventure would not have been the same if it weren’t for the amazing people and positivity everyone had towards all our activities, including hikes along Hadrian’s Wall, badminton, and most of all excavating.

Just a few of the many memories captured over the past few weeks

We began this archaeological journey together in the North Field, learning about the Romans and what they have left behind, evidently for us to now find, and slowly working our way towards greater finds in either the east ditch or the Vicus. This experience has been rewarding in every way possible and I can say, although I haven’t uncovered a ton of history, I was thrilled anytime I or others did. It’s not just what you find, it’s how you found it. I know that sounds cheesy but it’s true. Every skill, every technique, every part about archaeology is rewarding in its own way, and knowing how far I’ve come since the beginning is the best of all.

 

My time in the east ditch

I just want to thank everyone who made this experience a once in a life time opportunity, including our amazing professors, Beth and Alex, and every single person I’ve had the privilege of knowing during these weeks.

Now signing off,

Holly

 

Leave a Reply

