A Final Goodbye

To begin, I just want you all to know how much this trip has meant to me. From a very young age, my biggest wish was to come to the British Isles and to see this beautiful place for myself. This trip has allowed me to fulfill this childhood dream and has given me the experience of a lifetime. I have gotten to know so many new and exciting people and I have gained an extended family that I never expected. Being as close as we were, in both the trenches and at the cottages, we got to know each other in a way that only this type of experience can allow. That said, there are so many people that need thanking for this wonderful opportunity to have played out the way it did. At the very top of this list are Beth and Alex. Without them, none of this would have been possible. They have helped me to begin a new passion for travelling, and have reminded me that I do need to come out of my comfort zone if I expect to get places. Next are Andy, Marta, Lauren, and the rest of the team from Vindolanda. They always made us feel so welcome and energized us with their passion for what they do. Thank you to everyone for giving us this experience. I’ve decided that I’m definitely going to have to come back in the future, if only to see the changes to the site.

My final thank you, is to my companions from Cohort V Canadiorum. With anyone else, this could have ended up so differently. It would not have been the same without each and every one of our eccentric personalities and unique mindsets. In my opinion, we became the wonderful balance between insanity and brilliance (though we do lean a bit towards insanity). I’m so glad that I got to know each of you and if you ever need me, I’ll be there for you. See you all back on campus, and have fun wherever the rest of the summer takes you.

Shannon Final Blog Post Pic good
The Sky on our Final Drive Away from Vindolanda

Leave a Reply

