Hey!

Hey everyone! My name is Christine Englot, I’m from Calgary and I’ve just finished my third year at Western. I’ve changed my modules more than a few times, but am hoping to graduate next year with an Honours dual degree in Bioarchaeology and Classical Studies, and this trip to Vindolanda perfectly feeds into both of these subjects. I’ve been interested in archaeology for a long time and have had a little bit of hands on experience before, but I am truly looking forward to the four weeks ahead to learn more about the Roman Frontier and archaeology itself! Also, because I’m looking into potentially applying to grad schools in the UK, this is a fantastic opportunity to experience the culture and environment of this beautiful country.

13318900_10153657956388907_1689359764_n
After our first large ascent during our hike along Hadrian’s Wall.

My first few days here have been filled with journeys throughout the stunning landscape, including today when we went for a challenging, but rewarding hike along Hadrian’s Wall.

Here’s to hoping the sunny weather will continue for a little while longer!

13334698_10153657993373907_930965653_o
A panoramic view of the incredible weather we were lucky to have today!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

