Introduction Time

Hey everyone, my name is Shannon, and I’m so excited to be a part of the Vindolanda 2016 Field School. I just finished my second year as a Classical Studies Major with a Minor in Medieval Studies, so this is a great addition to my education.

IMG_3128

Outside of school I like to read and do crafts to keep my mind busy. Mostly I knit and crochet, but I like to try other types of crafts too. After the first three of us arrived at the aiport, Alex took us to see Vindolanda for the first time on our way to the cabins.

Ben, Shannon, Christine in front of Vindo- May 28, 2016Ben, Shannon, and Christine in front of Vindolanda site for the first time of many

As this is my first time being outside of North America, I am so excited, even with the jet lag. To help us stay awake long enough to adjust to the time change, Alex brought those of us who were here on a hike around the area between our cabins and Haltwhistle, the nearest town. The scenery was so beautiful that it was hard to decide what to take a picture of and when to try to catch up to the rest of the group.

IMG_3132.JPGThe hill beside the burn we walked along during our hike

All in all, it was a brilliant first day with many more to come. I’m so happy to be here as it has been a lifelong dream to come here, with the added benefit of taking part in an actual archaeological dig!

 

Leave a Reply

