Farewell!

As our final day of digging came to a close I couldn’t help but feel a sense of loss. This trip has been the experience of a lifetime, it’s shown me new things that I realized I love, and given me many new relationships with some amazing people. I knew two years ago that I wanted to be a part of this field course, back when Professor Greene first mentioned it in her Ancient Cities course when I was in second year. Even now, as I’m writing this on my third connecting flight home it still seems almost like a dream that I got to take part in something as amazing as this.

Early on in the trip, I realized that this experience is what I make it. I realized I wanted to take every opportunity that came my way, luckily the Global Opportunities award made that possible. Without it things like my Sunday trip to Newcastle, and a lot of the fun we had in the Lake District would’ve been out of my reach financially, but thanks to that I had the opportunity to make the most of my experiences here and for that I am very grateful.

The past 5 weeks have taught me many things about myself. Such as my ability to guilt trip myself. For many of the extracurricular hikes, such as High Street, and Loughrigg, I was always on the fence about whether I wanted to do them at all. I’m not the greatest hiker, uphill stretches, especially steep ones, feel like my mortal enemies, and I was holding myself back because of that. But then I thought about it and realized I was going to miss out on these once in a lifetime opportunities because I was doubting my own abilities. So I guess I learned more about myself (not just my self guilt-tripping!) but about my own determination and perseverance.

I would call this experience life changing, and eye opening, and can confidently call it the best 5 weeks of my life, no matter what weather and insects were thrown our way. It may be over, but the midgey bites will last for a little while yet.

IMG_4016
Steel Rigg, on Hadrian’s Wall
IMG_4095
Hexham Abbey
IMG_4130
Start of the first hike!
IMG_4478
Alex finding the Samian cup, Day 2!
DSCF4018
Recap of my first find! Proud moment.
IMG_4783
Lunch break during our hike up Loughrigg in the Lakes District.

Leave a Reply

