Until Next Time

The memories I’ve made over the last five weeks will travel with me for a lifetime. Long after the bug bites and blisters have healed I will forever carry recollections of an experience unlike any other. What I will remember most distinctly, however, will likely not be the artifacts I uncovered or the areas I excavated. Instead, I believe it will be the endless laughter with classmates, the countless conversations with trenchmates, and the feeling of being a part of something significant that will all remain the sharpest reflections in the future.

Over the course of the field school I learned a great deal about the history of Roman Britain, the site of Vindolanda itself, as well as several surrounding areas along Hadrian’s Wall. I also acquired a better understanding of various archaeological techniques and gained practical knowledge that will help me in life even outside of academics.

I am extremely grateful to all of the supervisors (Dr. Birley, Marta, and especially Lauren) who put up with Steve’s and my antics for the better part of four weeks and allowed us to have fun and work hard at the same time. I am also very thankful, of course, to Dr. Meyer and Dr. Greene who granted me this opportunity and provided much needed guidance throughout the entire journey. And, lastly, I want to send a special, heartfelt thanks to the people who made it possible for me to actually sieze this opportunity and participate in the field school by graciously donating scholarships. Fortunately, I had the pleasure of spending a good bit of time with one of my donors over the last two weeks and very much enjoyed his company every day. Thank you again!

Hadrian's Wall near Birdoswald, where we began our first hike.
Hadrian’s Wall near Birdoswald, where we began our first hike.
Dr. Birley explaining how to record the location of a small find.
Dr. Birley explaining how to record the location of a small find.
A blog photo within a blog photo (Inception).
A blog photo within a blog photo (Inception).
Lauren with her two favourite students, Steve and I.
Lauren with her two favourite students, Steve and I.

Leave a Reply

