On the Hunt!

Another day dawned on our experience here in England, and all of us Field Schoolers, including Beth, Alex, and Rob, headed back to Vindolanda. Except this time we were there to see the site’s museum. On our arrival we were all given our Friends of Vindolanda cards, and then the museum curator, Barbara Birley, provided a great tour of the museum and the artefacts displayed there. I thought this tour was interesting because there were a couple artefacts that have quite the interesting history of how they were used, discarded, and discovered. Now this tour was vital to the next challenge given to us students…..a scavenger hunt. Of course being the classicists we are it had to be an artefact scavenger hunt. It consisted of 16 artefacts, and the clue for each artefact came in the form of a limerick.

Mary looking at an inscription
Mary looking at an inscription

The papers were handed out and we all got ready to go. All of us chose to pair up and soon we were off on the hunt with some cheery Limerick’s to help us along. Again, most of us remembered a few items that were shown to us on the tour, but soon the limerick’s got harder to decipher. As official documenter of this occasion I occasionally popped away from Sarah (my partner) to take some pictures.

This hunt got fairly competitive and as documenter I was somewhat unwelcome in many cases because of the debate of answers between teammates.

Morgan glaring at me.
Morgan glaring at me.

I didn’t overhear any answers anyway…not for a lack of trying (Don’t judge, I just figured I’d use my role of the day to my team’s advantage). The odds were in our favour…well for most of them anyway. The last artefact had all of us stumped until we got some helpful hints, not in limerick form, from Beth. Overall I thought that the scavenger hunt was fun. We had a friendly competition between friends, and got to learn more about other artefacts in the museum. So after checking answers we had a nice lunch in the café and then headed on to the Roman Army Museum, where we relived our hike from the day before and saw Beth’s feature role in a short movie.

Sarah asking for some clues from Alex.
Sarah asking for some clues from Alex.
Here we have some bartering going on. One answer for another.
Here we have some bartering going on between Nick and Mary, and Morgan and Prem. One answer for another.
Checking our answers with Beth.
Checking our answers with Beth.

Now here are some of the artefacts we had to find with their corresponding limericks. Try identifying them in the comments!

I was used by a greener or mason For the job I surely did hasten I was found by my twin And not put in the bin Now kept in a case neatly glazen.
I was used by a greener or mason
For the job I surely did hasten
I was found by my twin
And not put in the bin
Now kept in a case neatly glazen.
On me are painted some men Who fought as a sport in a pen Then once I was shattered My pieces were scattered But now I'm together again.
On me are painted some men
Who fought as a sport in a pen
Then once I was shattered
My pieces were scattered
But now I’m together again.
I was found in the midst of a ditch Missing my gob after being unhitched  I was placed on a pole  And then fell in a hole But was found and then  put in a niche.
I was found in the midst of a ditch
Missing my gob after being unhitched
I was placed on a pole
And then fell in a hole
But was found and then put in a niche.
In the house of Ceralis I lay Found in the floor made of heather and hay I was used for walking Before my owner was talking Surely used for running and play.
In the house of Ceralis I lay
Found in the floor made of heather and hay
I was used for walking
Before my owner was talking
Surely used for running and play.

3 thoughts on “On the Hunt!

  1. It was:
    I was made to hold much meat and bread
    Owned by one clearly well fed
    Signed me did old Martianus
    Who oft put his kibble upon us
    Now found when my owners long dead.
    The answer was a Pewter plate.

Leave a Reply

