And so it begins !

Hello to everyone reading, My name is Steve Neumann and after a long journey from Leamington, Ontario I have finally arrived in the quaint village of Haltwhistle. My six-week adventure of researching and excavating along Hadrian’s Wall has just begun and I eagerly await to make some exciting finds! I have just completed my second year of Classical Studies at the University of Western Ontario, and have recently been accepted into the Richard Ivey School of Business, in which I will be pursuing my other passion of finance! I will be the last of three brothers who have been accepted into Ivey and look forward to continuing this tradition. Upon my arrival into the UK I spent my first night in Newcastle exploring and touring the many sites of the city. The picture below is of me along the River Tyne, with the Millennium Bridge and Sage Gateshead in the background.

Myself along the River Tyne
Myself along the River Tyne

Today was our first full day in Northern England and we now have a fully stocked kitchen and have our first site tour under our belts. We spent the day in Hexham shopping at Tesco (an English grocery store chain) and visiting the crypts of the Hexham Abbey. I am looking forward to an adventure of a lifetime over the next five weeks and will continue to post pictures of myself and the 2015 Vindolanda team!

The Hexham Abbey
The Hexham Abbey

– Steve

Leave a Reply

