The Last Waltz

Image

Hey everyone,

Just writing my last post for the Vindolanda Field School blog. I can’t believe that this trip is actually coming to an end. Its amazing how fast six weeks have flown by. I couldn’t have asked for a more amazing experience, this trip has been life changing. The amount of things I have seen in the last few weeks, and throughout this trip have been fantastic. From the numerous trips to different sites and museums, the hikes along the wall, and the experience of being able to participate in a full scale archaeological dig, I cannot begin to express how thankful I am for this opportunity. Our professors Dr. Beth Greene and Dr. Alex Meyer have taught me so much in these last few weeks and have been amazing mentors to all of the students here at the field school. I would personally like to thank them for giving me this opportunity to come along for the journey. Uncovering the kiln over this last month has been a personal highlight of this trip and I have enjoyed how the process of archaeology unfolds more and more of a feature as time progresses. It was a bit rocky there for a little while and we were unsure of exactly what we were dealing with, but in the last two weeks or so, we were finally able to determine that this feature was a kiln, and I am extremely proud to say that I was apart of this discovery. Without being given the opportunity to attend this field school, I would have never had the opportunity to be apart of such a discovery. I would also like to thank the people who donated to the Field School through the GOaward program, without individuals such as yourselves, many of us would not have been able to afford to attend such an amazing program, you are as much apart of our success as anyone, and I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart. This Field School has given me the opportunity to realize that archaeology is something that I want to make my future career, and without the help of people like Dr. Greene and Dr. Meyer, and the help of the donors, I may have never been able to realize this dream. Once again, thank you for everything, and I hope you have enjoyed reading our adventures in the North of England.

That’s all for now. Take care everyone.

Declan

 

Leave a Reply

