Talents I have acquired

Since being given this amazing opportunity to travel here to the UK and being able to dig in Vindolanda, I have met new people, made amazing friends and learned a few things.

A shot with Professor Greene and Meyer.  Thanks for giving us this wonderful opportunity and making sure we are all feeling well and taken care of.
A shot with Professor Greene and Meyer. Thanks for giving us this wonderful opportunity and making sure we are all feeling well and taken care of.
group shot
The whole western excavation group at Castlerigg stone circle

 

I was so nervous about coming here because I have never left home before and am so close with my family (was worried about being homesick and lonely). The people here have gone out of their way to make sure my stay here has been a little home away from home. From the people I share my temporary home with to the professors leading us on this journey and even people on site like Andrew Birley and diggers like Helen and Paul.

We've learned how to use the water pump and to be patient when it is be patient when it is acting temperamental.
We’ve learned how to use the water pump and to be patient when it is be patient when it is acting temperamental.
We learned how to properly use a trowel and hand shovel! And to keep light hearted while digging!
We learned how to properly use a trowel and hand shovel! And to keep light hearted while digging!
Paul, my new Australian friend, taught me how to properly use a pick axe.
Paul, my new Australian friend, taught me how to properly use a pick axe.
A shot with the students and and our fellow digging friends Paul and Helen.
A shot with the students and and our fellow digging friends Paul and Helen.

 

We only have a few more days of digging left here in Vindolanda and I am really sad to think of saying goodbye to all the people I have come to be so close to.  But, I think I have made some lasting friends here and look forward to meeting up with them again back in Canada =)

 

Until next time, toodles!

-Tanya

One thought on “Talents I have acquired

Leave a Reply

