Well, Here I Am!

Hi There!

Me, in the Hexham Abbey crypt that dates to the 7th century AD! Many of the stones that were used to build the crypt were recycled from local Roman sites, and if you’re lucky you can sometimes still make out bits of Latin text inscribed into the stones – like the faint inscription I am pointing to.

I’m Emily Baker, a member of the 2014 Vindolanda Excavation Team! I will be entering my fourth year at Western in the fall. I am currently working on achieving an Honours Specialization in Anthropology with a minor in Classical Studies.

I am beyond excited to begin excavation work on the Vindolanda site and to go on field trips to the other major archaeological sites in the UK. It is amazing to see the density of archaeological sites throughout the countryside, both Roman and pre-Roman. It seems everywhere you turn there is something new and exciting to discover and explore!

I look forward to posting my adventures on this blog, including pictures and videos of the places I’ve seen and the things I’ve experienced. I hope that you will join me, as well as the other members of the group, in this adventure into the ancient world.

One thought on “Well, Here I Am!

  1. RIB 1151

    IMP CAES L S SEP EVERVSPI
    PERTNAX ET IMP C ESAR M
    AVR ANTONIN PIVS AVG
    VSTI ET P SEPT VSIT
    CAESAR HORRE
    VEXILLATIONE

Leave a Reply

