The View from My Window

The View from My Window
The View from My Window
A late night moonrise
A late night moonrise

The view from my window is beautiful. There are woods, green fields, rocky hills, grazing sheep and a brilliant blue sky. I look out of the window here sometimes and imagine what’s out there over the hills. At first I imagined something that I had not yet seen, and now I remember what I have.

Vindolanda seen from Barcombe Hill. The small woods at the top left can be seen from my bedroom window.
Vindolanda seen from Barcombe Hill. The other side of the small woods at the top left can be seen from my bedroom window

Over the hills is one of my favourite places in the world, so familiar that it’s hard to say that I don’t know when I will see it again. I have sweat and laughed and learned and loved and dug and dug and dug over there. But that’s not all that I have seen and done over the hills in my window.

Jedburgh Abbey through an archway
Jedburgh Abbey in Scotland through an archway
The Roman fort at Hardknott Pass seen from the bus window.
The Roman fort at Hardknott Pass seen from the bus window

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have walked many miles of Hadrian’s Wall, an impressive stretch of land. I have also gotten to know the trails around Haltwhistle on weekends and evenings. I have seen this country coast to coast and many amazing places along the way.

Part of a Victorian era ruin at Haltwhistle Burn
Part of a Victorian era ruin at Haltwhistle Burn
Watching out for rabbit holes
Watching out for rabbit holes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will miss you too, Jenny-Kitty
I will miss you too, Jenny-Kitty

 

I have met many friendly people and animals too who will be the hardest to say goodbye to. I always have my camera with me having taken over 2000 pictures since I left home in May. The best thing that I have done is to have made memories that I will take with me wherever I go.

 

 

My little water proof camera was perfect for digging at Vindolanda
My little water proof camera was perfect for digging at Vindolanda
Meta
Meta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And as I look out this window once more, and maybe for the last time, I at once remember it all so well and imagine what’s out there over those hills.

The view across the Tyne Valley from the cottage's garden
The view across the Tyne Valley from the cottage’s garden

I will be home soon.

Thanks for reading,

Rob

3 thoughts on “The View from My Window

  1. Rob and Robin, it is so wonderful to read your farewell posts. The way you capture both the big experiences and the small ones makes it all vivid to those of us who are back in London. Thank you for your words and photos.

Leave a Reply

