Hello everyone!

Hello everyone! My name is Rohana Buzamlak and I am a fourth year university student studying Classical Studies and French Language and Literature from Western University, London ON Canada. Roman archaeology has always interested me and once I heard about the Vindolanda Field School, I immediately applied and jumped at the chance to explore Roman Britain. The Vindolanda Field School is my first archaeological trip and I couldn’t have asked for a better place!

Vindolanda has blown my mind. It boasts of a great museum where one can see unique and interesting artefacts (such as the Vindolanda Writing Tablets) and the impressive foundations of a Roman fort, vicus, Romano-Celtic temples and  a bathhouse. It’s only been two days since the group has been introduced to the site, but already I have learned so much about archaeology and Roman Britain. Archaeology is a lot more than just simply dusting off a bit of dirt off of a pottery shard! I look forward to digging and unearthing many Roman remains. I think that by the end of the 6 weeks, myself and the other Western students will have perfected the art of avoiding animal droppings without looking at the ground.

Until next time!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hello everyone!

  1. Soon you’ll have to watch out for some presents that the cows and sheep like to leave in the trench at night too. Keep at ‘er and keep us all posted. Best of luck.

    1. Oh gosh, I guess it’s going to be harder than I thought! Haha, thanks for the advice and I’ll definitely keep you posted 🙂

  2. Great blog post, Rohana! Thanks for sharing your excitement. I hope you find some nice Roman remains.

Leave a Reply

