Good morning, Vindolanda!

Come one, come all! Gather round the warm glow of your various electronics and allow me to introduce myself! My name is Dan Turner, a (soon to be) 4th year undergraduate student at the University of Western Ontario and one of the privileged nine to be taking part in the Vindolanda Field School this summer! To have been selected for this year’s dig team is truly an honour; rarely are Classical Studies students such as myself afforded the opportunity to study history at ground zero. I plan to relish every moment of my six weeks here in beautiful (and thus far sunny!) England, and if the sheer excitement of setting foot among the ruins of Vindolanda this morning is any indication, I certainly will!

Nothing could have prepared me for what I saw and felt today on site. Just as pictures fail to do the ancient fort’s presence and importance a justice, my words will no doubt fail to do the same, though over the next month and a half I will try my best to get it across. Until next time, stay tuned for more adventure posts, photos, and updates!

One thought on “Good morning, Vindolanda!

Leave a Reply

