Vale Vindolanda!

Hello All! Sarah VP here.

Well, this is it. The field school that I’ve been waiting for months to start is now over. I had the most incredible time and learned so much over the past five weeks. This field school has really helped me discover what it is that I hope to do with the rest of my life. Archaeology has always interested me and now that I have actually taken part in a Roman excavation I can safely say I never want to stop. Even on the last day of excavations I got a thrill when I found a piece of pottery that belonged to someone who lived almost 2000 years ago!

I have enjoyed every bit of the field school from the actual excavations to the weekend adventures and even those rainy days when we couldn’t excavate but instead had the opportunity to listen to so many different amazing lectures or go on impromptu field trips that usually resulted in us getting absolutely drenched.

I’m so glad I was able to go with the amazing group of students that came this year and am ever so grateful to my two amazing professors for giving me this opportunity to participate in the field school. Thank you to the Western Classics Department for supporting this field school. I know all the comments left on our blog posts by you guys has meant a lot to all of us!

I’m off to begin another leg of my exciting summer travels but I’m sad to leave behind the memories that the Vindolanda Field School has given me and the incredible people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting along the way. Thanks to everyone for giving me this wonderful opportunity!

Castlerigg Stone Circle. It stopped pouring rain as soon as we got there and prompted restarted pouring as soon as we left. The weather is so considerate here.

One thought on “Vale Vindolanda!

  1. Thanks for the post, Sarah. It’s great that you enjoyed the field school so much. Enjoy the rest of your summer travels and we’ll all look forward to hearing the stories in person when you get back!

Leave a Reply

