So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish and Chips

You know, I honestly can’t believe we’re almost done.

We’re beginning to pack, eating all our leftover food, and we all have our travel plans ready.

Everything’s going as it should.

But I still can’t believe that these amazing five weeks are almost over.

When I first got into the field school, it was, quite literally, a dream come true. I had wanted to go on an archaeological excavation since I was, I don’t know, eight? Sometimes I still can’t believe that I’m here, that I’m doing this, that I’m really finding things that belonged to someone living here almost 2000 years ago. This has been one of the most incredible experiences of my life, and I just feel so privileged to have been able to do it.

The eight of us have done and seen so many amazing things here! I had never been to England before this trip, and being able to travel so much along Hadrian’s wall, the lake district, the coast, and even up to Scotland has just been great. But I think that one of the best parts about this field school has just been how amazing Beth and Alex are. The amount of enthusiasm that they bring to every single thing we do, even though they’ve done this stuff and been to these places tons of times before us, has really just made the trip. I am truly, truly touched and honoured to have been a part of such an experience with two such wonderful people.

And I’m not just saying that because our exam is on Thursday.

Speaking of wonderful people, I would just like to mention how great it has been to live with the other students in the field school. Andrew, Rachael, Mike, Paulina, Alicia and the Sarahs, you guys are awesome, and I can’t imagine having a better crew to work, live, and travel with these past few weeks. I wish every one of you the absolute best in your future endeavours, and I will miss you all.

I only have a few days left with everyone here at Vindolanda, and I am rather depressed about this. However, I will always have the memories of this amazing experience, and I know that I will be back here in future years to excavate at Vindolanda again – and I can’t wait.

By the way, did I mention that I found my first piece of Roman leather yesterday? I LOVE VINDOLANDA!

5 thoughts on “So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish and Chips

  1. Thanks for the great posts and for taking part in the field school. It sounds like you (and everyone else there) feel grateful for the opportunity to go, but we’re also grateful to you for being such bright and enthusiastic students! I’m just hoping the title of your post doesn’t mean something dire is about to happen to the planet…

  2. Thank you all for your kind thoughts! Several of us, including me, will simply be returning to Canada in a few days, while others are heading off across Europe to continue their adventures. Personally, I can’t wait to get back home to see friends and family, and to experience a rather hot Canadian summer!

  3. For many years the Department has wanted to offer our students the experience of a field school, and it has been a source of real joy to follow your experiences through these posts. We have always been fortunate in our students, and the Vindolanders clearly reflect the best Western tradition of energy and engagement.

    Beth and Alex, my heartfelt thanks to you both for making this work so well!

  4. Hello Vindolanders – great farewell posts from Lauren, Andrew, and Paulina.
    Big thank you to you all and Beth and Alex for sharing in such a vivid way so much of your experiences – this will stay with you for a life time.

    If you have time let us know where your travels may take you next, and in the meantime best of luck to you all on your final exam, but not much doubt that you will all do well.

  5. Lauren, your post was so moving to read. I am grateful to all of you students, and to Professors Greene and Meyer, for making the field school the transformative experience it has been for you and the others. I am proud to be associated with all of you!

Leave a Reply

