Posted by: bethgreene | July 12, 2013

We moved THIS MUCH dirt this summer! If you have a moment, check out everyone in this picture. So funny!

We moved THIS MUCH dirt this summer! If you have a moment, check out everyone in this picture. So funny!

Well, that’s a pretty smooth final picture, eh? I thought I’d lead off my (first) final post for 2013 with it. What an accomplishment. So, I hope I’ve given everyone enough time to read all those fabulous goodbye posts from the students. I think we’ve had another successful Vindolanda Field School season! I couldn’t possibly beat any of those posts, but I wanted to make sure that everyone knows what happened in the trench in that final week. As you know we had a number of illustrious visitors working with us that last week including Dean of Arts & Humanities, Michael Milde and his wife Valerie. This wasn’t just a lark–we put them to work and here’s the picture to prove it!

See, dirty hands and everything!

See, dirty hands and everything!

We also had some supporters of the Global Opportunities student scholarship program, the folks that have been a big part of making it possible for students to have experiences such as this.  We can’t thank you enough for your help and support!!!

Andy Ringlet (on the right) was here excavating at Vindolanda back in 1993 (a very famous year for Vindolanda, the year of the bonfire find with many of the writing tablets). Andy decided to support the program and return to dig with the students. Here he is sieving in the barrow with Dan and trying not to laugh as I tell them to look serious and hard at work!

Andy Ringlet (on the right) was here excavating at Vindolanda back in 1993 (a very famous year for Vindolanda, the year of the bonfire find with many of the writing tablets). Andy decided to return to dig with the students in 2013. Here he is seiving in the barrow with Dan and trying not to laugh as I tell them to look serious and hard at work!

So I imagine you’re wondering also how far we got in this trench of ours….Well, the progress is astonishing when the sun shines! All the features that we saw popping out of the surface all those weeks ago have been at least partially excavated. There’s still work to be done, but these guys helped to explore almost everything we had hoped for this season. The pit in the center of the trench turned out to be a proper ditch, in perfect Vindolanda fashion (that sort of thing happens a lot around here!). It has been quite prolific with pottery, so a date is assured for its fill after we examine everything closely. The oven in the northeast ended up being surrounded by a very significant pit full of ash, pottery, crushed brick and tile and other stuff. Stay tuned on this feature until 2014–I don’t think we’ve seen the last of this complex!

This picture is facing east, so the things on the right are to the south and on the left to the north (I'm sure I didn't need to explain that). People always say that I'm never in the photos, but look closely--that's my shadow at the bottom!

This picture is taken facing east, so the things on the right are to the south and on the left to the north (I’m sure I didn’t need to explain that). People always say that I’m never in the photos, but look closely–that’s my shadow at the bottom!

 

And one last shot of this fabulous trench and this fabulous group of students!!! Oh and, you haven’t heard the last from me yet, I have to put up all the fabulous pictures from 2013 that haven’t made it in yet. Until then!

 

Look at this crew hanging out in the trench they dug. I think this might be my favorite group shot of the summer. So proud of all this hard work!

Look at this crew hanging out in the trench they dug. I think this might be my favorite group shot of the summer. So proud of all this hard work!

 

 

Responses

  1. Thank you so much, Alex and Beth, for leading another great season of the field school. So proud to have you as colleagues.

  2. Great photos – especially the one of Michael! I have enjoyed every moment of the blog this year, thanks for taking the time to post. I hope to find a way to visit next summer:) Enjoy the rest of your time in the UK and safe travels home!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

